Board & Advisors

NTI's board of directors and advisors are influential figures in international security, business, science, diplomacy and international policymaking. They provide critical input and insight to NTI’s work, helping to guide our efforts to prevent catastrophic attacks and build a safer world.

Board of Directors

Ernest J. Moniz
Co-Chair and Chief Executive Officer, NTI
Sam Nunn
Founder and Co-Chair
Ted Turner
Founder and Co-Chair
Des Browne
Vice Chair, NTI
Joan Rohlfing
President and Chief Operating Officer, NTI
Ambassador Hamad Alkaabi
Permanent Representative of the UAE to the IAEA and UAE Special Representative for International Nuclear Cooperation
Alexey Arbatov
Head, Center for International Security at Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Russian Academy of Sciences
Charles A. Bowsher
Former Comptroller General of the United States and Head of the General Accounting Office
Edmund G. Brown Jr.
Former Governor of California
Liru Cui
Former President of China Institutes of Contemporary International Relations (CICIR)
Rolf Ekéus
Chairman Emeritus of the Board, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Gideon Frank
Former Director General of the Israel Atomic Energy Commission
Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D.
Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Medicine
Igor S. Ivanov
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Russia
Riaz Mohammad Khan
Former Foreign Secretary of Pakistan
Jeong H. Kim
Former President, Bell Labs
Admiral Michael G. Mullen, USN (ret.)
17th Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
Ronald L. Olson
Partner, Los Angeles office of Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Michael A. Peterson
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Peter G. Peterson Foundation
Malcolm Rifkind
Former Foreign Secretary, UK
Ray Rothrock
CEO and Chairman of RedSeal
Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall
Former Deputy US Secretary of Energy
Dr. Nathalie Tocci
Director, Istituto Affari Internazionali
Ambassador Alexa Wesner
Former U.S. Ambassador to Austria


Charles B. Curtis
NTI President Emeritus and Emeritus Board Member
Susan Eisenhower
Emeritus Board Member
Eugene E. Habiger, USAF (Ret.)
Emeritus Board Member
Pierre Lellouche
Emeritus Board Member
Jessica T. Mathews
Emeritus Board Member
Ambassador Hisashi Owada
Emeritus Board Member
William J. Perry
Emeritus Board Member
Nafis Sadik
Emeritus Board Member
Amartya Sen
Emeritus Board Member
Shirley Williams
Emeritus Board Member
Fujia Yang
Emeritus Board Member


Warren E. Buffett
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Berkshire Hathaway
Siegfried S. Hecker
Co-director, Stanford University Center for International Security and Cooperation

NTI | Bio Advisory Group

John Brownstein, Ph.D
Chief Innovation Officer, Boston Children’s Hospital
R. Alta Charo, J.D.
Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law and Bioethics, University of Wisconsin
Gerald R. Fink, Ph.D
Member, Whitehead Institute Professor of Genetics, MIT
Tore Godal, M.D., Ph.D.
Special Advisor on Global Health, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway
Avril Haines, J.D.
Senior Research Scholar, Columbia University, former Deputy National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama
Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D.
Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Medicine
Jeremy Konyndyk, MSFS
Senior Policy Fellow, Center for Global Development, former Director of the USAID Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance
John Nkengasong, Ph.D.
Director, Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention
David A. Relman, M.D.
Stanford University Co-director of the Center for International Security and Cooperation
Reshma Shetty, Ph.D.
Co-Founder, Ginkgo Bioworks
A placeholder image featuring the NTI logo
John-Erik Stig Hansen, M.D., DMSc
Director of the Denmark Centre for Biosecurity and Biopreparedness
Renee Wegrzyn, Ph.D.
Program Manager, Biological Technologies Office (BTO), DARPA

Science and Technology Advisory Group

Gideon Frank
Former Director General of the Israel Atomic Energy Commission
James Gosler
Senior Fellow, Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University
John Holdren
Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
Jill Hruby
Sam Nunn Distinguished Fellow
Dimitri Kusnezov
Deputy Under Secretary for Artificial Intelligence and Technology at the U.S. Department of Energy
Jason Matheny
Director, Center for Security and Emerging Technology, Georgetown University
Ray Rothrock
CEO and Chairman of RedSeal
Ellen Williams
Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland
Maria Zuber
Vice President for Research and E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology