## JOINT DECLARATION OF SOUTH AND NORTH KOREA ON THE DENUCLEARIZATION OF THE KOREAN PENINSULA

Entry into force: 19 February 1992

South and North Korea.

In order to eliminate the danger of nuclear war through the denuclearization of the Korean peninsula, to create conditions and an environment favourable to peace and the peaceful unification of Korea, and thus to contribute to the peace and security of Asia and the world,

Declare as follows;

- 1. South and North Korea shall not test, manufacture, produce, receive, possess, store, deploy or use nuclear weapons.
- 2. South and North Korea shall use nuclear energy solely for peaceful purposes.
- 3. South and North Korea shall not possess nuclear reprocessing and uranium enrichment facilities.
- 4. In order to verify the denuclearization of the Korean peninsula, South and North Korea shall conduct inspections of particular subjects chosen by the other side and agreed upon between the two sides, in accordance with the procedures and methods to be determined by the South-North Joint Nuclear Control Commission.
- 5. In order to implement this joint declaration, South and North Korea shall establish and operate a South-North Joint Nuclear Control Commission within one month of the entry into force of this joint declaration;
- 6. This joint declaration shall enter into force from the date the South and the North exchange the appropriate instruments following the completion of their respective procedures for bringing it into effect.

Chung Won-shik
Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea
Chief delegate of the South delegation to the
South-North High-level Talks

Yon Hyong-muk
Premier of the Administration Council of the
Democratic
People's Republic of Korea
Head of the North delegation to the South-North
High-level Talks