Armenia Flag for Armenia

Country Spotlight

Armenia does not possess nuclear, biological, or chemical weapon programs but does deploy ballistic missiles. Armenia operates one nuclear power plant which has garnered international concern about its safety record. Armenia maintains a defense alliance with Russia through its membership in the Collective Security Treaty Organization.

See Armenia's performance in

Region   Former Soviet Union

3 Types of ballistic missiles deployed: Tochka, Scud, and Iskander-E

2 Nuclear research facilities

25 Percentage of Armenia’s electricity produced by the Metsamor nuclear power plant


  • Operates two nuclear research facilities and one nuclear power reactor (Metsamor), which receives fuel from Russia
  • Armenia intends to construct new nuclear power plant unit after its current nuclear power unit ceases operations in 2036
  • Signed agreement with US in 2012 to improve export controls after numerous incidents of Armenian citizens caught attempting to smuggle radioactive material

View the full Armenia Overview


  • Operated an anti-plague system responsible for defending USSR against biological attacks in the 1960s; now protects against infectious diseases 
  • Acceded to Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) in 1994
  • Does not possess biological weapons 


  • Inherited Tochka (SS-21) and Scud ballistic missiles from the Soviet Union following its collapse
  • Purchased Iskander-E (SS-26) short-range ballistic missiles from Russia in 2016
  • Reported use of ballistic missiles during the 44-day war with Azerbaijan in 2020


  • Founding member of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) and member of CWC 
  • Signed the Tashkent Agreement of the Commonwealth of Independent States in 1992, acknowledging Russia as official inheritor of Soviet chemical weapons
  • Does not possess chemical weapons

Treaties and Regimes Memberships

See all Treaties & Regimes


The NPT is a treaty aimed at limiting the spread of nuclear weapons through the three pillars of non-proliferation, disarmament, and peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Learn More

Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty bans all nuclear explosion tests on Earth. It needs eight key countries to ratify before entry into force.

Learn More

Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC)

The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) requires countries to destroy all chemical weapons and prohibits developing, stockpiling, or using chemical weapons.

Learn More

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

The CIS is an association that coordinates the facilitation of free movement of goods, services, labor force, and capital between member states. It also promotes cooperation on security matters.

Learn More



Armenia Overview
Four Nuclear towers

Fact Sheet

Armenia Overview

Overview of Armenia's nuclear, chemical, biological, and missile capabilities and nonproliferation activities.

More Analysis

Education Center

Extensive resources on nuclear policy, biological threats, radiological security, cyber threats and more.

Explore the Center


My Resources