Kyrgyzstan Flag for Kyrgyzstan

Country Spotlight

Kyrgyzstan did not inherit nuclear, chemical, or biological weapons after the collapse of the Soviet Union and has not pursued WMD since. However, radioactive waste from uranium mining and milling operations reflects the legacy of the Soviet nuclear weapons establishment.

See Kyrgyzstan's performance in

Region   Former Soviet Union

36 Estimated number of legacy uranium tailings and dump sites

150,000,000 Invested by the Eurasian Development Bank to modernize and clean the Kara-Balta Plant (shut down in 2016) 

2019 Year the Kyrgyz Supreme Council voted to prohibit uranium mining and exploration


  • Large amounts of radioactive waste stored pose significant health risk
  • Member of the Central Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free-Zone (CANWFZ) since 2006
  • Has no nuclear power plants, signed MoU in 2022 with Russia’s Rosatom to construct small nuclear power plants


  • Has no known biological weapons and lacks the domestic capability to produce them
  • Party to the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) 


  • Does not possess ballistic or cruise missiles
  • Not party to Hague Code of Conduct Against Ballistic Missile Proliferation


  • Has no known chemical weapons and lacks the domestic capability to produce them 
  • Party to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC)

Treaties and Regimes Memberships

See all Treaties & Regimes

Central Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free-Zone (CANWFZ)

The Central Asian Nuclear-Weapon-Free-Zone (CANWFZ) made formerly-Soviet Central Asia, a Nuclear-Weapons-Free-Zone under the Semipalatinsk Treaty.

Learn More

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

The CIS is an association that coordinates the facilitation of free movement of goods, services, labor force, and capital between member states. It also promotes cooperation on security matters.

Learn More


The NPT is a treaty aimed at limiting the spread of nuclear weapons through the three pillars of non-proliferation, disarmament, and peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Learn More

Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty bans all nuclear explosion tests on Earth. It needs eight key countries to ratify before entry into force.

Learn More


See All Facilities



More Analysis

Education Center

Extensive resources on nuclear policy, biological threats, radiological security, cyber threats and more.

Explore the Center


My Resources