Nunn-Lugar Award for Promoting Nuclear Security

At the Carnegie International Nuclear Policy Conference, the Nunn-Lugar Award was presented by Carnegie Corporation to NTI Board Members Des Brown and Igor Ivanov.

  • Washington DC

NTI Vice Chairman Des Browne and distinguished Russian diplomat and NTI Board Member Igor S. Ivanov share the second Nunn-Lugar Award for Promoting Nuclear Security. The Nunn-Lugar Award was established in 2012 in honor of U.S. Senators Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar, who were also the award’s first recipients.

The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and Carnegie Corporation of New York created the award to recognize an individual or institution whose work has helped strengthen global security and further peaceful co-existence among nations by preventing the proliferation of nuclear weapons and reducing the risk of their use. The award is a tribute to Andrew Carnegie, who dedicated much of his philanthropy to the goal of achieving world peace.

Read the press release from Carnegie Corporation.

Read Sen. Nunn's remarks recognizing Igor Ivanov.

Watch the ceremony:





My Resources