Atomic Energy Research Institute

View All North Korea Facilities

Last Updated: September 30, 2011
Other Name: 원자력연구소; Nuclear Research Institute; Atomic Energy Research Center
Location: Bungang-jigu (분강지구), Yongbyon-gun (영변군), Pyonganbuk-do (평안북도), North Korea
Subordinate To: General Department of Atomic Energy (원자력총국), Cabinet (내각); or the Korean Workers Party (조선노동당)
Size: 380 buildings including: Nuclear Physics Laboratory, Radiochemical Laboratory, and Isotope Processing Labs. Three branches: Pakchon(박천) in Pyonganbuk(평안북도), Wonsan(원산) in Kangwon-do(강원도), and Nanam-kuyok(나남구역) in Hamgyongbuk-do(함경북도) [1]
Facility Status: Operational

North Korea first established an Atomic Energy Research Institute (원자력연구소) under its Academy of Sciences in December 1952. [2] The institute was moved to the Yongbyon Nuclear Research Center in the early 1964, and the institute currently has three branches. [3] The Pyongyang branch, established in 1987, is the Atomic Energy Research Institute. The Nanam-kuyok (나남구역) branch includes the Radioisotope Laboratory, built in 1980; and the Wonsan (원산) branch includes the Radiological Protection Institute.

[1] 북한개요 2009 [North Korea Introduction 2009] (Seoul: Korea Institute for National Unification, 2009), p.322.
[2] “북한네트-백과: 과학기술 연구기관 [DPRK Net – Encyclopedia: Science Technology Research Institutions],” Joogang Ilbo,
[3] “시사백과: 북핵/일지 [North Korea Diary],” Chosun Ilbo, October 2006,

Country Profile
Flag of North Korea
North Korea

This article provides an overview of North Korea's historical and current policies relating to nuclear, chemical, biological and missile proliferation.

Learn More →

This material is produced independently for NTI by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of and has not been independently verified by NTI or its directors, officers, employees, or agents. Copyright 2019.