14th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion

View All North Korea Facilities

Last Updated: March 1, 2003
Other Name: 제14핵화학방위대대
Location: Sunch'ŏn Vinalon Complex (순천비날론연합기업소), Sunch'ŏn (순천시), South P'yŏng'an Province (평안남도), North Korea
Subordinate To: Department of Operations (작전부), Nuclear Chemical Defense Bureau (핵화학방위국), General Staff Department (인민군총참모부), Ministry of People's Armed Forces (인민무력부)
Facility Status: Unknown

Other reserve battalions include the 13th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion (제13핵화학방위부대) at the Hamhŭng Vinalon Complex; unidentified 15th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion (제15핵화학방위부대); 16th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion (제16핵화학방위부대) at the Namhŭng Chemical Factory; 37th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion (제37핵화학방위부대) at a factory in Wŏnsan, Kangwŏn Province; 38th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion (제38핵화학방위부대) at the Sariwŏn Potash Fertilizer Complex. According to the Segye Ilbo, there are six reserve battalions and two active duty battalions (the 17th battalion in Onjŏng-ri, Sŏngch'ŏn-kun, South P'yŏng'an Province; and the 18th battalion in Sŏk'am-ri, P'yŏngwŏn-kun, South P'yŏng'an Province) for chemical and biological warfare.

[1] Kim Yong-chun, "Has North Korea Chosen Chemical and Germ War Instead of Nuclear War?," Kook Bang Ilbo, 3 December 1999, p. 4, in FBIS Document ID: FTS19991212000879;
[2] Chang Chun Ik, Pukhan Haek-Missile Chŏnjaeng (Seoul: Sŏmundang, 1999), pp. 360-364;
[3] Sŏn Chong Ku, "Puk Haekhwahakpang'wiguk: Haeksaenghwahangmugi Ch'ongjihwi," Segye Ilbo, 21 May 1997, p. 17, www.kinds.or.kr.

Country Profile
Flag of North Korea
North Korea

This article provides an overview of North Korea's historical and current policies relating to nuclear, chemical, biological and missile proliferation.

Learn More →

This material is produced independently for NTI by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of and has not been independently verified by NTI or its directors, officers, employees, or agents. Copyright 2019.