17th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion

View All North Korea Facilities

Last Updated: March 1, 2003
Other Name: 제17핵화학방위대대
Location: Onjŏng-ri (온정리), Sŏngch'ŏn-kun (성천군), South P'yŏng'an Province (평안남도), North Korea
Subordinate To: Department of Operations (작전부), Nuclear Chemical Defense Bureau (핵화학방위국), General Staff Department (인민군총참모부), Ministry of People's Armed Forces (인민무력부)
Size: Unknown
Facility Status: Unknown

The 17th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion is reportedly an active duty unit, as is the 18th in Sŏk'am-ri, P'yŏngwŏn-kun, South P'yŏng'an Province. The 17th Nuclear Chemical Defense Battalion consists of five companies. According to the Segye Ilbo, there are two active duty battalions and six reserve battalions.

[1] Chang Chun Ik, Pukhan Haek-Missile Chŏnjaeng, (Seoul: Sŏmundang, 1999), pp. 360-364.
[2] Sŏn Chong Ku, "Puk Haekhwahakpang'wiguk: Haeksaenghwahangmugi Ch'ongjihwi," Segye Ilbo, 21 May 1997, p. 17, in KINDS, www.kinds.or.kr.

Country Profile
Flag of North Korea
North Korea

This article provides an overview of North Korea's historical and current policies relating to nuclear, chemical, biological and missile proliferation.

Learn More →

This material is produced independently for NTI by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of and has not been independently verified by NTI or its directors, officers, employees, or agents. Copyright 2019.