Last Updated: September 27, 2011
Other Name: N/A
Location: Islamabad
Subordinate To: Higher Education Commission; Pakistan Engineering Council
Size: 120 faculty, 2103 students [1]
Facility Status: Active

Founded in 2002, Air University offers BE, MS, and PhD degrees in a range of technical disciplines, including Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronics, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Aerospace Engineering, and Avionics through the Faculties of Engineering, Basic and Applied Sciences, and the Institute of Avionics and Aeronautics (IAA). IAA is currently building several engineering laboratories that will provide students with hands-on training in advanced disciplines useful in missile design and manufacturing. These include the Aerospace Sensors and Systems Laboratory, the Avionics Integration Laboratory, and the Aerodynamics Laboratory. [2]

Air Cdre. Dr. Ijaz Ahmad Malik, SI(M) (Retd.) was appointed Air University’s second Vice Chancellor in November 2008. [3] Many Air University graduates have gained employment at the Air Weapons Complex, the National Defence Complex, and the Khan Research Laboratories, among other known missile research and production facilities, upon graduation. [4]

[1] “Facts about Air University,” Air University, accessed 19 February 2011,
[2] “IAA – Research Labs – Air University,” Air University, accessed 19 February 2011,
[3] “Time-line – Air University,” Air University, accessed 19 February 2011,
[4] “Directory of Graduates by Placement and Alumni Office – Air University,” Air University, accessed 19 February 2011,

Country Profile
Flag of Pakistan

This article provides an overview of Pakistan’s historical and current policies relating to nuclear, chemical, biological and missile proliferation.

Learn More →

This material is produced independently for NTI by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of and has not been independently verified by NTI or its directors, officers, employees, or agents. Copyright 2019.